BitMEX to Extend Restricted Access to 3 More Jurisdictions

Crypto derivatives exchange BitMEX has decided to restrict access to its platform for three more jurisdictions – Hong Kong, Bermuda, and Seychelles.
Per Monday’s announcement, the decision has been taken pro-actively to ensure the safety of funds and stability of the exchange.

BitMEX is registered in Seychelles and has business arms in both Hong Kong and Bermuda. The restriction of access by the exchange’s parent company HDR Global Trading Limited will ensure the non-involvement of the BitMEX employees in trading activity on the platform.
“The increased involvement of regulators with all the major players in the industry is not only to be expected, it is to be welcomed. It is the mission of good regulators to ensure that honest citizens are not being cheated,” the official announcement stated.
“For this reason, we have decided to restrict access to BitMEX for users in the jurisdictions in which HDR-affiliated employees and offices are located.”
With this, the count of has become 11 as the list already includes the United States, the province of Québec in Canada, Cuba, Crimea and Sevastopol, Iran, Syria, North Korea, and Sudan.
Still offering services to restricted jurisdictions?
The move by the crypto derivatives exchange came when a Bloomberg report revealed that by the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) for the continuation of its services in the United States.
BitMEX does not hold a mandatory license from the futures regulator in the US to offer its services in the country. However, its chief executive Arthur Hayes revealed in January that it is possible for traders based in the country to spoof their location to trade derivatives.
Meanwhile, BitMEX is also facing some silent aggression from its customer base, as in July, , making it the highest monthly outflow from the platform.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *