IOSCO Re-Elects Hong Kong’s SFC CEO as Chair of Board

The (IOSCO) announced this week that, following its inaugural meeting, the Board has elected its leadership for the 2020-2022 term.
At the inaugural meeting on Tuesday Ashley Alder, the Chief Executive Officer of the (SFC) Hong Kong, was re-elected as IOSCO’s Chair and Jean-Paul Servais, Chairman of (FSMA) Belgium, as a Vice Chair.

Furthermore, the Chairman of the United States (CFTC), Heath P. Tarbert, was elected as a new Vice Chair. Obaid Al Zaabi, the CEO of the Securities and Commodities Authority (SCA) of the UAE is Vice Chair of the Board in his ex-officio capacity as Chair of the IOSCO Growth and Emerging Markets (GEM) Committee. 
Commenting on his re-election, Alder said in the statement on Tuesday: “I am delighted to be re-elected as Chair of the IOSCO Board. I am also delighted to welcome Messrs. Servais and Tarbert as Vice-Chairs in addition to Dr. Al Zaabi. 
“Together, I believe we comprise a strong leadership team which will continue to direct IOSCO’s efforts in addressing issues related to IOSCO’s core objectives of safeguarding investor protection, market integrity and financial stability. As our recent experience with COVID-19 demonstrates, IOSCO plays a central role in ensuring markets are resilient and able to serve the real economy.” 
Regional Board Members of IOSCO
The GEM Committee, Regional Committees and the Affiliate Members Consultative Committee (AMCC) of IOSCO elected new leadership for the two-year team earlier this year.
Al Zaabi, from the SCA of the UAE, was re-elected as the Chair of the GEM Committee. Taking on the roles of Vice-Chairs of the GEM Committee is Sergey Shvetsov, First Deputy Governor of the Bank of Russia, and Yusuf Kaya, Executive Vice Chair of the CMB Turkey. On Tuesday, IOSCO also published a for the 2020-2022 term.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *